Thoughts on "The Truth" about the "American Sniper"

I’ve seen a lot of criticism popping up over American Sniper. Frankly, I don’t care for any of the stories that are surfacing, or the “truths” that are being uncovered. I’ll still see that movie. Coz at the end of the day, he’s still dead. And he left behind a grieving widow who is doing the best she can with the pieces that are left. 


And I don’t care if she stands to profit exceedingly from allowing her husband’s story to be told. I hope she does profit! I hope this movie is a cathartic release for her! I hope this movie helps her to heal! I hope she is strong enough to bear the blows of these stories about her husband. She knew him as her husband and part of the story is told through her lens. I’m happy for her! To be able to show the world a side of her husband that perhaps no one else saw?!? How awesome! I can totally empathize with how awesome that must feel for her!!!

So while our culture feeds on the “true story” of who Chris Kyle WAS, I ask you: why the fuck do you care? How about you take the energy it took you to reveal the “true story” and you do something that’s actually helpful and useful?!? Better yet: go live your life. You’re not gonna be here forever, yknow.

Just let the movie be what it is: an inspiring story about love and heroism. Don’t we all need a little bit of that these days? Why are we always looking to tear someone down?!? Even after their dead?!? And why don’t we think about those who’ve been left behind and what these “truths” do to those people? I don’t understand that. I really don’t. I’m sure Chris Kyle was not perfect. No one is. We are all perfectly flawed. But let him rest. Let this story inspire. Let his wife heal.

Leave a Reply

